about me______________
I realize at 28 I'm not as smart or together as I thought I was. This is a sobering realization. I think.

navigate_______________
previous
next
new
old
profile


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:

contact________________
notes
book
mail

recent_________________
If only I had a Dabadoo to lead me around town - April 07, 2005
Tardpants part deux - March 28, 2005
scritch - February 17, 2005
duh - February 16, 2005
Fogey - February 10, 2005

links__________________
kinetix
sturge
murtymcmurty
banana3159
mattu
loudwoman
megf5
pillydivine
waxpop
storyoflo
dabadoo32

design
diaryland


The Jackass Chronicles

Henpeck this, bitch.

I am so disgusted by my mother. She has turned into this bickering, snipey, pissed-off older woman. She constantly attacks my father, everything is such a big deal and Dad can�t do anything right. As soon as he left the room, she would be whispering in my ear about something stupid he had done the week before, or how he had messed something else up or how inconsiderate he was. Woman, you haven�t had to work a day in your life. You�ve gotten to do basically whatever you wanted for your whole adult life because of that man. You have an amazing house with anything you want in it. Sure, it sucked when you guys first got married and you were still in college and he was drinking and traveling a lot, but you guys went to a ton of therapy together. A TON. And you stuck it out. You didn�t get divorced. I was so proud of them for so long but basically, since they both turned 50 almost 5 years ago, I can�t stand to watch them together anymore. She is such a bitch to him.

And the real bitch of it is, is that I was taking relationship advice from HER??? She doesn�t even know how to have a civil conversation anymore. She doesn�t know how to be nice to him anymore. She�s just a demanding, cruel person to him. I can�t believe how far she has fallen. I am at a loss as to what to do about this. Christmas was barely tolerable around them this year. I just sequestered myself in the kitchen and baked and drank wine for like 4 days straight and tried to tune out the yelling. MERRY FUCKING CHRISTMAS! I know I�m not a little kid anymore, and you know what that means? I don�t have to put up with it. I don�t have to subject myself to this anymore than I want to. I have my own place and my own life. I�m just disappointed that I�ve invested so much into my mom and taken everything she�s said as the gospel for so long and now she�s going to live out the last 30 years of her life like this? I don�t want to stick around and watch this. I really don�t. She�s just a miserable person right now. And I tried to talk to her nicely about it and I said, �well, you do sort of henpeck him sometimes�� and she went insane, like furiouso on me. The entire rest of the vacation she must have said �henpeck� in a really sarcastic and insulting way like 100 times while sneering at me. What a psycho.

I need to take a break from my family, I think. I know. I feel like I am the only one who invests time and energy into the family anymore. My poor father doesn�t know what to say or do anymore, my brother is still a selfish prick (but at least he�s on meds and in therapy now :thumbsup: ) and my mother has just gone off the deep end. It�s useless to try and change her anymore. She�s so set in her ways and she is never wrong anyway so there�s nothing to argue or discuss with her. Now I just have to figure out how to break the news to her that I won�t be coming around as often anymore.

That should go over like gangbusters!