about me______________
I realize at 28 I'm not as smart or together as I thought I was. This is a sobering realization. I think.

navigate_______________
previous
next
new
old
profile


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:

contact________________
notes
book
mail

recent_________________
If only I had a Dabadoo to lead me around town - April 07, 2005
Tardpants part deux - March 28, 2005
scritch - February 17, 2005
duh - February 16, 2005
Fogey - February 10, 2005

links__________________
kinetix
sturge
murtymcmurty
banana3159
mattu
loudwoman
megf5
pillydivine
waxpop
storyoflo
dabadoo32

design
diaryland


The Jackass Chronicles

Fogey

Oh barf.

I just read an article in my alma mater's newsletter about "The Millenials", the generation born in or after 1982. It's repulsive. They showed a picture of a kid with a Jack Osbourne afro (when did haircuts and combing go out of style?) in the players box in the ice arena on a fucking cell phone. The article cites how these kids are "tethered" to their cell phones" :rolleyes: Why? Why do you need a cell phone on a campus of 2500 students in a half mile area that has a McDonald's, a Burger King, 2 grocery store, a pizza place, a bank and 4 bars? WHY?

The article also cites how parents are way more involved in the students academic life, calling or emails teachers immediately when a bad grade is given. I would have DIED if my mommy had called up a prof and whined about my grades. GET SOME SACK AND TAKE RESPONSIBILITY.

All the fraternities are gone, they're all still wearing those GODDAMN LANCE ARMSTRONG BRACELETS TAKETHEMOFFALREADY!, and they have pictures of students walking on that beautiful, beautiful campus and I counted 7 of them on cell phones or wearing headphones.

Why would you want to tune out 4 years of your life at a place like that? You will have the rest of your life to be attached to your cell phone and be "important" and tune out the sounds of whatever urban city you choose, but for god sakes, enjoy being a kid with no responsibility, sans bills and phone calls for 4 glorious years. Please. Realize how lucky you are to be at a place like Colgate, with some of the sharpest minds and facilities in the country with the most gorgeous landscape I've seen in the Eastern states.

I wonder if anyone still plays frisbee or reads outside or if everyone is inside on their iPods and computers.